best-hosting.simplexhost.net is a prolific content spammer, and a true chameleon, as it changes IP addresses very often. Look up its hostname and you will get 62.210.24.146, but ban this ip or even range and best-hosting.simplexhost.net spamming simply will not stop. This is good for fooling anti-bot engines.
Observed:
62.210.24.146 62.210.0.0 – 62.210.127.255 Iliad is a spoof and has nothing to do with best-hosting.simplexhost.net
contabo.host is a consistent content scraper from Germany. I’ve been banning IPs for a while, so thought it best to go for larger ranges. They are a hosting company, not an ISP. kontrollprozesse.contabo.host, a content spammer, was added 2016 Jul 27, and includes a larger ban range.
Observation:
vmi60316.contabo.host 5.189.137.81
vmi74707.contabo.host 5.189.142.153
vmi76252.contabo.host 5.189.162.103
vmi10785.contabo.host 79.143.180.67
vmi32368.contabo.host 213.136.84.244
m1131.contabo.host 178.238.239.246
kontrollprozesse.contabo.host host command maxed out and returned over 256 entries (2016 Jul 27)
163data.com.cn is a very prolific content spammer. While they operate out of Chinanet Fujian Province most of the time, they will take IPs from all over China. You can see the province in their ip address. I get spam from them at least every week, and much more if they have a spam campaign.
I have tried banning their host name but this does not work. You need to ban by IP address, unfortunately.
free-109-108.mediaworksit.net has tried to crack my security so I thought it appropriate to track them down.
The host name only provides the third and fourth octet, leading one to gues the first two. As they have not repeated the third octet you will need to ban larger ranges.
hoor.nullvpn.com was trying to crack my security, so I thought it good to research and ban them. They are using a VPN, but there are not many IP addresses.
tor-exit-node.7by7.de spammed me today, so I decided to track them down. There is not much on him, but he is a tor exit server.
It is too bad that tor exit servers are used for spamming, as many sites will ban them. Banning due to spamming really defeats the purpose of tor. The best intentions result in misuse.
wimax183-11.yota.com.ni hit my site as a part of the large Semalt botnet that started with keywords-monitoring-your-success.com and free-video-tool.com campaign, which I have already banned. That botnet was huge. They involved virtua in Brazil as well. Finally that campaign ended and they started with fix-website-errors.com and buttons-for-website. buttons-for-website is a really old Semalt SEO botnet campaign.
Pattern:
To the IP root of 190.181 for the first two octets, add the second two from the hostname.
Observed:
wimax183-11.yota.com.ni 190.181.183.11 190.181.128.0 – 190.181.191.255 190.181.128/18 Yota De Nicaragua